Stream of Consciousness Sunday III

I doubt 5 minutes is enough time to sufficiently process my thoughts on this matter but maybe if I just write and get it off my chest now it will make sense to me…if it doesn’t make sense to you…sorry. There are probably only 3 of you out there anyway (Hi Mom!)

I volunteered yesterday to be the cheer section at a part of the race for Avon Walk for Breast Cancer. (Random: My fave t-shirt of the day was “Stop the War in Myraq”…yes, very cute! Grown women in pink tutu’s? whatever…) Much to my chagrin, when I arrived I realized that my typical internet based not for profit had teamed up with a religious organization and we were sharing the pit stop o_O

#SOCsunday

I’m not sure what I would categorize myself…I am certainly not athesist…but I am not super religious either. I generally think that I am a typically good person who doesn’t deserve to go to hell. I grew up in the church…I remember being bribed to go to church with the promise of McDonald’s after (which created an entirely different problem all together) but I generally enjoyed it. I just remember that some of the meanest people that I can reember from my childhood…I met at church. I am not saying anything bad about church people in general but I just find that there is a level of enthusiam…wanting to show off…something that just doesn’t sit right with me. I just realy don’t mesh with people that I call “extra”….like sit down and do whatever it is that you need to do and calm down! Yes…xy and z is fabulous…great is works for your but stay over there and calm down. THat doesn’t just apply to church people….just EVERYONE. I g…ugh…I dunno. I really wanted to turn around yesterday but I got out of bed at 6:30am and I wasn’t going to let that ruin my morning. I just had to keep rotating around the pit stop because I always found myself around people who were screaming just a little too loud to be genuine and it makes my friggin skin crawl. Like really…do we have to hand the people markers 200 feet before they are even near the friggin banner that they have to sign? The only reason you are 200 feet away from the banner is because you want to be the first one to hand the walkers a marker…that they won’t use for 200 feet…that they will just throw down on a table. No I will not start chanting a made up rhyme to give people directions…calm the eff down! PUT  DOWN THAT DAMN BULLHORN!…can’t you just hand out the brownies and smile? Oh…stop what we’re doing to take another video to put on your website to show people that you help the community…how about we just keep helping?

Thank goodness for pom poms…

This was my 5 minute Stream of Consciousness Sunday post. It’s five minutes of your time and a brain dump. Want to try it? Here are the rules…

  • Set a timer and write for 5 minutes only.
  • Write an intro to the post if you want but don’t edit the post. No proofreading or spellchecking. This is writing in the raw.
  • Publish it somewhere. Anywhere. The back door to your blog if you want. But make it accessible.
  • Add the Stream of Consciousness Sunday badge to your post.
  • Link up your post at http://allthingsfadra.com
  • Visit your fellow bloggers and show some love.
3 thoughts on “Stream of Consciousness Sunday III

  1. Melisa says:

    I really can’t be around people that are trying so hard. It puts me in a foul mood, so I totally get this post. But you know what? Good for you for not turning around and giving your support…even if you weren’t the loudest one there!

  2. Some people have different motivations for helping. Some might do it to get publicly praised for their actions; others just do it for the pure pleasure of helping. When I help others I do it cause I want to, not to necessarily get recognized. I know how you feel when people are over the top to get seen…annoying!

  3. hahahaha! This post was hi-larious. I can just see the volunteers handing out their markers 200 feet before they should, making videos, and chanting loudly! hahahaha! I would’ve had to stay a little far from them, too!

Leave a Reply

