Does this not scare anyone else?

Excuse me? Perhaps I am partial because I worked at insurance companies for a respectable chunk of my career…but I SO believe that “they” would rather have us sick and paying insurance premiums than healthy. (yall know I can be dramatic!)

“In a news release issued this week, the FDA said that after years of detailed study, regulators concluded that meat and milk from cloned cattle, swine and goats and their offspring are safe to eat. In fact, regulators will not require any special labeling for meat that was produced from clones.”

GTFOH!!! This topic came up while I was at Khumura’s Saturday waiting for my Mom. I almost got so wrapped up political coverage that I almost forgot the FDA is trying to kill me!

Khumura is a vegan and Mom (who abhors labels) eats what she wants…but red meat is like a once a month thing if at all…and since she is lactose intolerant she is only a hop, skip and a jump from being a vegetarian or vegan if she ever chose to do so.

I know that they claimed that the cloned meat is not among the regular meat yet and it won’t be for a while, if at all…but either way…I felt lost Saturday night trying to figure out what to eat! I was visiting family…far away from my cookbook and kitchen…and everything that popped into my mind to eat…I just couldn’t bring myself to go…well…anywhere.

Has science gone too far?

I was talking to one of my girlfriends today and she suggested that perhaps the government is trying to push more people towards being vegetarians/vegans by scaring them…I wouldn’t put it past the government to try and scare people into action…that seems to be the blueprint anyway…but I doubt the aim of this is to scare us into healthier lifestyles…

Washington Post article…

7 thoughts on “Does this not scare anyone else?

  1. Wow – knew nothing about this. And they claim they don’t know why we’re getting cancers and diseases that we can’t cure.

  2. SistaLocd says:

    WTF? I am amazed never heard about this until today. As far as the governement is concerned it’s hard to believe that they haven’t put this with regular meat, this is shocking. I am so glad I’m a vegetarian, now if I can only leave the milk and cheese alone! lol, This is crazy just crazy!

  3. I think that if we are hearing about it now, its been going on for the past 5 years. which is why there was a big push to organic food… quietly, farmers wanted us to eat actual meat or eggs but didn’t want to come out and say, “THE GOV’T IS FEEDING YOU CLONED FOOD!”

  4. Cluizel says:

    DTW – My conspiracy theory thinking self thinks that they dropped this news now on purpose so people would be so wrapped up in politics that they wouldn’t noticeSistaLocd – I will have to eat organic meat from now on until I am ready…if ever…to make that jumpStace – I feel you! I so believe that…Khumura and I agreed that the fast food industry and places around the way would be the main ones buying this meat…I don’t even know where I should eat anymore

  5. Yes! I heard about this, am writing a post about it, and find it ri-dic-u-lus! I love the new photo and the look of the blog too.

  6. Cluizel says:

    Thanks Sophia! Its insane isn’t it? Makes me want to cut meat out my diet. Can’t wait to read your take on it!

  7. SeZ says:

    Looking at it will make you ask for a shot before going to Red Lobster!:-)Scary

Leave a Reply

