Why do people always feel the need to tell you that they researched Sisterlocks but didn’t chose them because of XYZ? I don’t give a shyt! (lol)

I saw some of my friends from college that I haven’t seen in a while…so my hair was new to them

Old Friend: Oh…you got Sisterlocks! They’re nice.
Me: Oh wow…thank you.
OF: I just knew because they were so small
Me: Yeah…
OF: I know about them because I was researching them…but…they’re too small and I want to do my locks myself…I don’t want to be bothered with a tool

Oh how I love a quasi-compliment…lets say something nice and throw in the wrench. lol. I know I’m not the only one who runs into this right?

🙂

Addendum: YOUUAAAA!

7 thoughts on “

  1. muslimahlocs says:

    no, you are not. i had been wearing sisterlocks for about a year when a couple of old friends came down for a visit. they decided to get them AFTER they saw them on another one of my girlfirends b/c “well, they looked cute on me but…” they saw how cute they really were on my other friend b/c her hair texture was more like theirs. ummm…thanks.

  2. How Ironic! I was considring posting about the same thing. Today, a girl at my job told me she wanted them but couldn’t get them because they turn into dreadlocks. WTH? ishes…

  3. Meikmeika says:

    I know what you mean too…. I’ve heard people say they would get them but didn’t want to pay the money or rely on someone to do their hair. And I need to know this because??????I even had a friend tell me my locks were way too small and she attempted to start combining them in threes… I almost had a heart attack!!!!!I’ve also had people with perms state they don’t want to lock or go natural if their hair appears like mine…WHAT!? Now if that’s not a compliment I don’t know what is!! LOL!!!Guess it’s a good thing I LOVE my hair!

  4. sisterlocks? wow. I learn something new everyday. I did my own locks about 16 years ago. and back then, we only had dredlocks…;-)

  5. Michelle W. says:

    The sideways compliment I get is “oh you look so pretty…today”. WTH is that. You look good today but yesterday your tail was busted. Or the all time worst is “you are so cute for a big girl”. Now if that ain’t some mess. I didn’t know being thick took points away in the looks category. If I had low self esteem I would have shot myself by now or gotten some plastic surgery.

  6. Cluizel says:

    Oh but Michelle W apparently it does…lol. I get the “pretty for a big girl” all the time. And even if I ever do lose weight my height and stature will still give me the “big girl” label…but its cool…I enjoy intimitdating short people. :-)Blacktain America – you know black people…we like to make up new names for everything…lol. Light skin/dark skin all over again…lol@Muslimahlocs/Naturally Sophia/Meikmeika – OUCH! My goodness…people just say any ol’ thing

  7. Renea says:

    Brush those haters off! hee heeThey just hate you cuz they ain’t you!

Leave a Reply

