Hot pockets between friends…

My friend David and I met in the 9th grade in first period English class. He didn’t go to middle school in Mount Vernon and he was skipped a year so I didn’t know him previously. We hit it off immediately! And we had almost every class together during our four years in high school. He was ALWAYS laughing and telling jokes and always plotting the next way to take over the world. He would preach to me about the joy of hot pockets and he turned me on to chicken pizza when I was skeptical.

In accounting class sophomore year…we were the youngest ones…and we picked up on it the fastest! We would battle back and forth on who could get their debits and credits to equal first or who could read further ahead in our text book and master the concepts before the teacher taught it. Lol…sounds dorky…but it was fun. We had a ball in Spanish classes and FBLA overnight trips. Senior year he was student body President and I was the secretary…so along with the Treasurer and VP…we had a ball! Senior trip to FL…Six Flags for Halloween…driving the principals Benz to Chicken Hut for lunch (shhh…lol)…Graduation

I chose to go to Hampton to pursue my degree in Accounting and David went to FAMU to join the 5 year MBA program with a concentration in accounting. At the time David wanted us to continue our nerd like legacy together at FAMU but at the time it was too far from home for me. David and I have always kept in contact…not that often…but we always had this way of being to pick up right where we left off as if 5 months or a year hadn’t lapsed. Whenever I came back to NY I always called David to see how he was so we could hang out.

It’s amazing that you don’t remember how many memories you have with someone until they are gone.

In June of 2004 I received this email from David…

Hello all,

I am writing this e-mail because of the information some of you may have or may not have heard about my current condition. Monday June 7th I had a doctor’s appointment and my Dr. said he felt something hard in my stomach so he sent me to the hospital accross the street to get some tests done. I took a whole bunch of tests and stayed in the hospital until the following tuesday. It was determined that i had a kinda large tumor in my abdomine. I had a proceedure preformed while in the hospital in which they made a small cut in my stomach to take a piece of the mass so they could examine it. After all of this they determined the best way to shrink the mass was to use kemo to treat it so it would shrink and eventually dissolve. This treatment will occur about once every two and a half weeks or so and it will begin right after the 4th of July. I will not be returning to FAMU obviously because of the treatments and do not know when I’ll be able to get back into school and probably feel like when I do go back it will be closer to my parents so they can keep an eye on my health so on and so forth. The doctors said this tumor had been growing for at leat a year. So therefore for the past year and some change if I have done anything out of my character towards you in any way shape or form I apologize and ask for your forgiveness because we finally know why I haven’t been myself.

Thank you for your prayers and god bless all of you.

P.S. I am not dying so stop crying if you are!!!

David Terrence Bradley II
June 2, 1983 – January 23, 2007
Rest in Peace
16 thoughts on “Hot pockets between friends…

  1. Brenda says:

    A good friend like that will be in your heart always. Think fondly of all your “remember when…” moments. Take care.

  2. brunsli says:

    I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your dear friend.

  3. SistaLocd says:

    I’m sorry to hear about your friend.

  4. sunsail says:

    My condolences… how are you holding up, hun? Please don’t go into a chocolate tailspin… 😦

  5. Mimi says:

    That’s so sad. I’m sorry to hear of your loss. Keep the faith girl.

  6. Goodnapps says:

    Oh dear. My condolences are with you.

  7. Ok, Cluizel you got me becsue I was not at all expecting the ending. I am so happy that you had that kind of friend but sad that you have lost him. Take care!Creyole

  8. Quietspirit says:

    I am so sorry about the loss of your good friend you have my deepest sympathies. Remember him with joy.

  9. Miss Evans says:

    Lifting up prayers for David’s family and loved ones. Bless you for sharing this tender moment with your blog friends.Maryee

  10. CloudNine says:

    I am so sorry to hear about the passing of your friend, David. May he rest in peace.

  11. Anonymous says:

    Michelle, u have my condolences and support *cyber hug* its hard to lose a close friend and I hope ur rememberance of the wonderful times get u through.-Madam

  12. Chi-chi says:

    Hey Michelle I am truly sorry for your loss. It’s a blessing that he had a friend like you to share good times with. He’s in my prayers.Chi(:

  13. Mel says:

    Deepest Sympathy at the loss of your dear friend.

  14. awwww Michelle. that is soooo tough losing a friend. i hope you find peace in knowing that he’s in peace.

  15. Anonymous says:

    Cluizel-My prayers to you & the Bradley family. Sorry for your loss… but don’t dwell on the passing but on the time you shared. Even in your sorry, your description of the friendship was beautiful.V

  16. Anonymous says:

    Michelle I had no idea. I went on Alaina’s face page and saw comments to a pic saying RIP David. I was like ? then I googled it and found your blog. I’m sorry to hear that. RIP David. –sheenaB–

Leave a Reply

