An Ode to Chocolate…

First trans fat now this?!? You CANNOT be serious. Oh come now!!! I’ll workout…I’ll be courteous to tourists! I’ll…I’ll…I’ll stop cursing…just don’t take chocolate away from me!!!

So this deserves a story…back when I was 11 I remember sitting in church with my Nana. It was a nighttime service…and I was munching on a Hershey Almond bar. Yum yum yum…halfway done with the bar I happen to look down at my arm. “WHAT? What are these hive like bumps popping up for?!?” ::still eating chocolate::…10 minutes later “Wow…why are there even more bumps?”

My Nana told me to stop eating the chocolate…so I folded up the remaining chocolate and pouted. My Mother is allergic to chocolate, so when I got home she looked at my arm and told me I had to leave the chocolate alone because that is exactly what used to happen to her when she had chocolate.

WHAT?!? No chocolate?!?…so I gave up chocolate for about 3 years. But as they say…if you love something let it go, if it comes back to you then you’ll know…well, chocolate and I made up and rekindled our love affair…and everything has been great…

UNTIL LAST THURSDAY!!! I woke up Thursday morning, showered…then I looked at my arms and legs…what are these little bumps all over me?!? Oh goodness…wait…calm down…you ate a lot of new things this week…take it easy this week and see what happens.

Sigh…for some reason I did not eat ANY chocolate Saturday and Sunday (very odd for me)…I woke up Monday and BAM…everything is normal.

Lunch Monday…what better way to top of a delicious SUBWAY sub than with chocolate chip cookies? Yum yum cookie…but then BAM…30 minutes later I look down….THERE THEY ARE AGAIN…

I don’t need a doctor to tell me that chocolate and I are no longer friends…but it just hurts! What will I do with my life now?!? Who will wipe my tears away? Who will love me? We have shared so much together…we have had such great memories…

MOMENT OF SILENCE FOR CHOCOLATE…
.
.
.

ok…so in tribute to my departed love and friend chocolate I am renaming myself. Now…I had to get creative because “Coco” or “Milky” sounds too much like a broke down stripper. Lol.

My friend is going to France next week and he has been promising to bring me back some chocolate that I LOVE…now he refuses to bring me back delicious French chocolate…so say goodbye to “SLWilder”…I will now be known as “Cluizel” for Michel Cluizel chocolates…some of the most delicious I have ever had…which I will never have again

Le Sigh…

So there will be some blog changes in the next few days…on the bright side, my real name can still be used…just leave off that extra “le” from Michelle…its just ornamental anyway… 🙂

12 thoughts on “An Ode to Chocolate…

  1. SistaLocd says:

    Girl you a trip I thought you was serious! Well on second thought Chocolate is serious especailly with nuts. Sorry that sounded nasty! Anyhow I’m sorry that you have to depart from Chocolate maybe I could eat extra for you, wait, that won’t work I’m trying to lose weight! As far as those other names they do sound like broke down strippers lol “Cluizel” sounds much more fancier! I’m curious to know if you had anyother symptoms besides the bumps?

  2. Cluizel says:

    Lol…I really do love chocolate a lot. lol. All of my friends have been telling me to shut up because I keep whining about my life being over. lol.Actually it was just the bumps…but now that I think about it the headaches I used to get could be attributed to chocolate…I would just ignore them. Its possible it just manifested in another way now? I thinks the bumps was the bumps were teh only thing i couldn’t ignore…(ugh)

  3. Goodnapps says:

    oh you poor thing. When I eat chocolate one bite will be for you.

  4. CloudNine says:

    Say it ain’t so! I am so allergic to chocolate too! Yes, it is a very painful life, my friend, painful and cruel rolled into one. You are lucky…little bumps? I wish. I get little painful cysts. And sometimes when I just do not give…I will have a piece and wake up looking like, “who shot John.” My mother is also allergic. She breaks out around her eyes of all places. I did find some fake chocolate (carob covered almonds and raisins at Whole Foods) (My best friends father claims it tastes like ex-lax but what are ya going to do?)

  5. brunsli says:

    Oh, that is so very sad.

  6. Cluizel says:

    OH HOW I MISS CHOCOLATE SO…::wimpers quietly::Ok…I am better nowGoodnapps – Thanks! I know I am allergic but I think I still may indulge every now and then…I can be itchy for a few days for some good chocolateCloudNine – WOW…my Mom has those happen sometimes too…I heard about that Carob mess..I don’t know if i can disgrace chocolate like that…Brunsli – 😦

  7. Brenda says:

    What are you going to do when I invite you to go to Hershey Park??!! The admission includes a tram ride tour of the chocolate making process with a treat at the end. Guess I’ll have to snatch yours!

  8. Cluizel says:

    Oh no…my heart is stopping…gag…cough cough…so much chocolate I haven’t experienced…cough cough..sputter sputter…lol

  9. locizm says:

    Well, I’m glad to know you were able to pinpoint the reason for your bumps and that it did not effect your breathing or something major like that. I’m allergic to chocolate too but I’m hardheaded. Everytime I eat chocolate it causes large love handles on my waist but my addition is too strong- I am weak. I praise your commitment my dear brave woman :-). I like your new name! Peace

  10. Anonymous says:

    Cluizel-Gurl, say it ain’t so…. (a woman’s) life sans chocolate is … is… sacrilegious of that is just & right in the world. However, the bumps are not CUTE at all… unless you want to become a Benadryl & Tylenol-poppin’ fiend to have your chocolate fix to offset the bumps/headaches. Somehow, I think your body is going to respond in a more serious/painful manner if you continue with the chocolate.I just got some distressing food-related news from my dr. as well… just say no to sweets…my life is over as well. (as I sit here eating a glazed doughnut; my addiction RULES me)LOL @ “Coco” & “Milky” — Hang in there,V (from the 12/2 Brunch)

  11. Cluizel says:

    Locizm – Lol. Chocolate always did that to me too! :)Anon – Hmmm…I hadn’t thought about Benadryl! At least I know there is a way around it for those special occasions when chocolate is necessary! Thanks V!

  12. le sighMichel, I love you! who cares abt chocolate? you don’t need it!

Leave a Reply

