America’s Next Top Model

Now, I have been called many things…one of these things has been cynical. I tend to lean more towards realistic. Shit happens!

I am a avid watcher or ANTM…and now I have my Mom into it too. Wednesday will be the season finale…of the 3 girls lefts, Melrose, Caridee and Eugena…one is AA. My Mom and I are debating about who we think will win…I told Mom Eugena (AA) won’t win it this year.

Mom – Why not?
Me – A black girl won last year
Mom – So?
Me – Tyra has to alternate or else the white people will have a fit
Mom – Michelle!!!
Me – What?!?

Lol. Cynical? Ok…think what you want, but let’s be realistic…we do not live in a color blind society. Of course I don’t enjoy that some of the things I say are true…because they aren’t always nice things…but I would rather be realistic than naive.

So…just a few moments ago I was on the phone with my friend/old coworker who lives in Philly. She was in her apartment with her roommate and a visiting friend (all white) and they were watching last weeks ANTM.

Friend – “so and so” wants to know has there ever not been a black person in the top two
Me – Season 1…it was between Adrian and some blond chick
Friend – Oh

So..HA…they do notice it! Take that!

Of course when I made my statement I wasn’t seriously implying that when Tyra will be judging the contestants she will automatically throw Eugena portfolio away because its not “our” turn…but I do acknowledge that people notice these things. Why else were most black people elated with joy when OJ got off?!? Like it was some accomplishment that black money could also trump the justice system…or when an AA does win ANTM…we definitely notice a black girl won…you think everyone else doesn’t take note?!?

Well…I will be watching Wednesday night so I can watch the drama unfold…who knew modeling would have all this extra mess attached to it?

17 thoughts on “America’s Next Top Model

  1. Madam says:

    I sooooooooooo agree. Like I told my friends, Tyra has a pattern…ANTM cycle selections; 1. white chick 2. white chick 3. black chick 4. white chick 5. white chick 6. black chickAm I the only one who sees this? in the beginning I though maybe the Indian? girl would win, but we clearly saw she was not on point. So, back to teh typical selection pattern. Whoses turn is it next? EXACTLY. i just hope it’s not Melrose…

  2. Cluizel says:

    Oh my goodness! I so feel you on that…I do NOT want Melrose to win. She is so damn fake.By default I hope its Caridee…I am so annoyed that Melrose is even there still.Wow…I forgot her name but the Indian? girl was gorgeous…she just let the skinny girls get to her…and I think the twins were a Tyra’s normal gimmick and a waste of damn space. 🙂

  3. Bygbaby says:

    I am addicted to ANTM. Is Eugene does not make the final 2 I am going to kick someone’s Ass. Actually if Melrose wins I Am going to kick someone’s ass. I think Caridee & Eugenena go head up. Between the 2 of them I am would be pleased with either. I just got into the show last season so I am not aware of any pattern.I look forward to your re-cap post!!!Bygbaby

  4. Jeri says:

    I’m with you. It will be one of the blondes this year. I’d love Eugena to win, but I think politics will make it Caridee. Melrose has been fake all season. She wants it bad, but think of all the madness Caridee has done cuz she wants it bad too. The Indian girl should go on Miss World or something like that. She’d win.In any case, I won’t be at church on Wednesday. I have to watch ANTM! :p Confession is good for the soul.

  5. Jeri says:

    I’m with you. One of the blondes is gonna win even though I’d love Eugena to win. So, if i have to vote blonde, I’ll take Caridee. She does take beautiful photos and she’s not fake like Melrose.I’ll be home Wed night for sure cuz I have to see what happens.

  6. Brenda says:

    I’ve been watching since the middle of cycle 1. I agree that Eugena probably won’t win, because in addition to being black, she looks very similar to last cycle’s black winner. But while there have been 2 obviously black winners, there was another who was mixed, Naima, who won right after Eva in cycle 4.

  7. Brenda says:

    Come to think of it, there actually hasn’t been a blonde winner yet, so I guess it’s their turn.

  8. Cluizel says:

    Oh I am so excited I am not the only one who doesn’t like Melrose! She is so fake…ugh…I may boycott (yeah right) future seasons if she winsI agree with everyone…Caridee by default. Melrose is fake and its not Eugena’s “turn”…I know I am older than Melrose (by like 5 seconds)…but she does look old as hell for 23…they are lucky I love food so much…I be in there with my 6’1 ass so FAST! Lol.

  9. Goodnapps says:

    oh gosh. After the 1st few shows, I haven’t been watching and completely lost track. You folks have definitely given me the update!

  10. Cluizel says:

    Brenda…I forgot about Naima…and if the “one drop” rule counts I suppose there have been 3 AA winners…lolGoodnapps – you haven’t been watching? Tsk tsk (j/k) lol.

  11. LOL that we have to alternate. girl, color is SERIOUS to them as i don’t know what! they are all up in arms about afirm action but they didn’t notice that WE weren’t getting into top schools and the top jobs… as usual, it doesn’t matter till its them

  12. Helga says:

    Whaaaat? I can’t believe that we all have been thinking the same thing. I want Eugena to win too, but two sistahs in a row…? You never know. Thing is, Melrose and Caridee are both so plain, there is nothing memorable or striking about the way they look. Nobody will forget Anchal because she had such extraordinary looks. I have nothing against blondes generally, but the two blonde finalists this season are *yawn* boring.

  13. CloudNine says:

    Yep, there is always a formula…I have to say I was soo happy last year when Danielle won. So Eugena, girl we love ya but, based on the formula…you’re not going to make it:( As an aside, do we even remember any of the winners besides Eva the Diva, everyone else is so forgettable…

  14. Madame says:

    I’m tried of blogger making my posts anonymous on some people’s pages…anywho…Naima had a “drop”? I just thought the girl was portugese or somethin. But that’s stupid, since all the portugese have a “drop”…sighYes, Eugena looks like Danielle (last cycle winner) so that WILL NOT be happening unless Tyra wants to just shock people to build up ratings for the next cycle.I’m in the process of making my pickett(sp?) sign for tomorrow. I’ll be chanting, “Melrose? HELL NO! Melrose? HELL NO.”-Madame

  15. Madame says:

    PS, i was thefirst poster…

  16. Bygbaby says:

    So Caridee has won & I am happy about that. Melrose fell apart & it seems like the one who is on top through out the competition seem to fall close to & at the end.I would have loved to see Eugena win but she was not stepping up personality wise which is what cost her. I know she will get picked up somewhere because she does have skills.

  17. Cluizel says:

    Wow…this was a popular post. lol. I am glad I am not the only ANTM fan in the blogger universe

Leave a Reply

