Excuse me…Are those Sisterlocks?

I think part of the reason I have calmed down about my hair is because I am starting to get recognized now. It’s happened a twice (?) since my last “real” hair related posting in early November…

1. Cheescake Factory -w- Kiyon. – Lol. He was around the last time someone recognized my hair. He was parking the car and I ran in to put our name on the waiting list. Then I ran into two natural sisters and one asked if I had Sisterlocks. Opps…she has them too! So we start talking. By the time Kiyon comes in he sees me talking, he doesn’t recognize the women…looks at the hair…and realizes the connection. lol. I am still trying to convince him we aren’t a cult.

2. Work – I was in a 3 day training for work “How ___ Works”…so yesterday (day 3) all of us were comfortable with each other and we were finally networking. My company is very diverse but there were only maybe 3 AA’s in this session. So I go grab lunch and come back in…and one of the AA asks me is I have Sisterlocks. I was kinda confused because she was a permie, but then she explained her mother has them too. Dang…I should have mentioned our gathering today…but I had food in my hand so I was distracted. lol.

And speaking of permies…do you catch yourself looking at their hair and noticing how damaged it is? lol. The first day of training I got in the elevator with the aforementioned permie and I couldn’t help but look at her hair….”Wow…did my hair look like that?” Funny thing is I mentioned it to my Mom and she laughed because she catches herself doing the same thing too…

8 thoughts on “Excuse me…Are those Sisterlocks?

  1. Goodnapps says:

    Look at you. Sittin on cloud 9.It keeps getting better and better. I can definitely testify.

  2. SistaLocd says:

    I admit I do that too. However I pay close attention to everyone’s hair now. I never payed this much close attention to my hair or anyone else’s until I became natural! I wonder why?

  3. locizm says:

    sisterlocks are getting noticed everywhere! that is such a beautiful thing. Peace

  4. CloudNine says:

    It is worst now that I am SL’ed. I run up to sistahs like it is nothing!

  5. Cluizel says:

    Thanks Everyone…I’m glad I’m not alone! 🙂

  6. Ms Stella says:

    It’s funny you mentioned the cult comment from your friend. When my husband realized my new “do” came with a book, web-site, a community of bloggers and group gatherings etc…, he joked about it being a cult too.I can’t help but notice how many AA women in whatever setting I’m in have damaged looking hair or “fake” hair. I’m going to a family gathering in L.A. this weekend and I know I’ll have something to blog about when my die hard permies get a look at these naps.

  7. Cluizel says:

    Oh wow ms stella, I didn’t even think about that…I am not looking forward to my first family reunion sisterlocked…I need tougher skin for that…it will be like my encounter with my Nana times 50

  8. Cluizel says:

    Oh wow ms stella, I didn’t even think about that…I am not looking forward to my first family reunion sisterlocked…I need tougher skin for that…it will be like my encounter with my Nana times 50

Leave a Reply

