First Sisterlocks Sighting

So I had my very first Sisterlocks sighting in NY. I wish I could put an exclamation point…but I will not. 😦

So I am on my way to work…since I don’t live in a borough yet I have to take a train to Grand Central and THEN take the subway down to the financial district. So I just did my daily run from the train to the subway and I make it to the subway just in time to squeeze into an already over crowded subway car…

So I am wedged in between a bunch of short people (everyone is short to me) and I look to my right…wait…could it really be? So of course now I am staring at her hair…but I don’t want to ask her if they are Sisterlocks over the head of like 3 people so I just wait and hope she doesn’t get off at the next stop. Well luckily she doesn’t and when everyone gets off and we shuffle around to claim our space…wow…she ends up standing right in front of me. OK…so of course I am gonna ask.

“Excuse me (tap tap) do you have Sisterlocks?”
“Why yes I do”
“Oh well they are beautiful. How long have you had them?”
“Thanks. For 3 years. Are you thinking about going natural?”

…wait…I thought I already did?!? Oh the relaxed ends…maybe she can’t see the top of my head so she can’t tell?!?

“I already did…I got Sisterlocks a little over 2 months ago”
“Oh where do you get them done?”
“Harlem. How about you?”
“White Plains. Oh…oh ok…well good luck”

She was with 2 coworkers so she turned her attention back to them…

Yeah…don’t know how to feel about that. Hopefully I will run into someone more engaging the next time. 🙂

Well I am off to Philly for the weekend to help a friend move and to hang out with friends from my old company. Most of my friends that were in my program that were in FW with me have rotated to Philly so I can hang out with them. I am SURE I will have plenty of lock sightings in Philly. Maybe someone will even have Sisterlocks?!?

9 thoughts on “First Sisterlocks Sighting

  1. brunsli says:

    What a bummer. Maybe you’ll bump into Leighann on the subway one day :)Are you going to the locks conference in Philly next month?

  2. Cluizel says:

    Ohmigoodness…I didn’t even know about it! Now that I do I am definetly going! Thanks Brunsli!Now to find someone to go with…

  3. Tra says:

    Sorry your SL sighting was kind of “dry” but hey shake that off. Take lots of pics at the conference in Philly…sounds divine (-:

  4. Goodnapps says:

    Don’t sweat it. But not to make excuses for her but for 3 years, I’m not really surprised. Now that I’m at 1 year my original excitement had dwindled something terrible. When I get compliments, I try to keep it short and simple unless the person is giving off some extraordinary vibes for more info. Don’t get me wrong, I love my SL’s with a passion and wear them proud but it’s not quite the same as when I first got them.

  5. ewww. she burst your lil bubble. with that said, what are you going to do abt the relaxed ends? have fun in Philly!

  6. Brenda says:

    Sorry to weigh in so late (vacation!), but I’m in Philly. Energyteacher and I are planning to go to the Philly Locks Conference and we’re trying to get together as many as possible so we can all go together and do dinner after. Look out for more info on Lockitup.Brenda (girlingov)

  7. Cluizel says:

    Tra – I will!Tanya – I can see that…but I was kinda like…Damn. Someone with Sisterlocks can’t even tell I have Sisterlocks? :(Stacey – My consultant said she is going to let them stay for now…but we are going to have a serious sit down in December. i told her that at the first sign of bunching they have to go! I have been safe so far.Brenda – Great! I’m in! All of my friends in Philadelphia have relaxers or they are not AA so I was going to fly solo.

  8. Goodnapps says:

    Girl, I’ve had it happen to me once and I would of neva thought somebody would not recognize my SL’s from a fellow SL locker. Again, don’t sweat it!

  9. Cluizel says:

    Sigh…I am in NYC…I’m lucky she didn’t bark at me for making eye contact. lol.

Leave a Reply

